Reply
Member
DerekAustin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
0

Configure firewall on BT Business Hub

Hi

I have recently had BT Infinity installed at our office together with the Business Hub 2701HGV-C (Firmware v. 6.3.9.63-plus.tm)

 

Since installation, we have been plagued with attacks, attempting to crack into our server (some 2000 last night!).  Although we have ‘robust’ passwords, I’m worried that eventually someone will gain access just through ‘brute force’

 

With our old router, we were able to block ALL incoming traffic EXCEPT from two specific (static) IP addresses, but for the life of me, I can’t see how to configure this (basic security issue) on the BT Business Hub – Am I missing something, can someone suggest a way I can implement this?  

 

Thanks in advance……..

Derek

Guru
OldWolf
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎09-04-2009
0

Re: Configure firewall on BT Business Hub

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Surely if the firewall is logging incoming attacks that are being stopped then it is doing it's job?

 

Or am I missing something here?

 

And brute force attacks usually only work on weak passwords, or ones that use dictionary words, names, etc.  It would be quite hard to brute force a 20+ character random number/letter/case/special character password.

 

As far as allowing traffic through is concerned, wouldn't that be port forwarding?

 

Dave A

Power User
nikkil
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎23-02-2012
0

Re: Configure firewall on BT Business Hub

I guess he wants to configure "access list" on this device not sure if it's an option tho. Is it possible? Like an access list or an iptables option on this device? 

Guru
spank
Posts: 616
Registered: ‎05-03-2009
0

Re: Configure firewall on BT Business Hub

Nope, not possible.  The BT router only blocks ports, not IP's.  It's not that basic either to be honest, most basic routers don't have this option.

Member
DerekAustin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-03-2012
0

Re: Configure firewall on BT Business Hub

Hi,

 

The point is, the router's firewall isn't logging or stopping the incoming attacks, it's just our server's admin password that is preventing access.

 

Ok, I have now accepted that the BT Business Hub is  quite a 'basic' unit and setting up an IP access list isn't an option. What I have now done, is change the default incoming RDP port to a much more 'obscure' port and that (for now) seems to have stopped the attacks.

 

If further attacks resume, I may have to look at a more 'advanced' router.

 

Many thanks to all for your prompt replies - Kind regards....

 

Derek