cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PPoE Username & Password

hansontech

I am a network installer and have been asked by a customer of BT to install a new network within their business premises.  The client has just been connected to FTTP and currently has a Business Smart Hub 3.  This will be replaced by another security gateway and I understand the FTTP connection via the ONT uses PPoE to connect.  Does the customer need to contact BT Business to get a specific username and password for connection so I can commission the system during installation?

The customer has also been provided with a VOIP phone service which has been setup using a separate Yealink DECT base station connected to one of the LAN ports on the BT Smart Hub.  Will this work with an alternative router or is this part of the BT Digital Voice system which only works through the Smart Hub 3?

Many thanks for any information.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

Connecting a third party router to the ONT does require a PPPoE username and password, which can be obtained by contacting BT Business Support. I recently had to go down this road when I connected my own router to the ONT.  I just told the agent that I am using my own router and could they supply my Network Userid and password, which they gave me without any issues.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

kelper
Guru

To  use a non-BTB modem/router, he will need to obtain a unique username and password from BTB.  I have connected a DrayTek Vigor this way.  This is only used as a backup if the BTB unit fails.  I only have a BTB Smarthub 1, but that has bridge mode so that it can be used as a modem only and then you can connect your own router.  I've read that Smart Hub 2 and 3 do not have Bridge mode although it might be added with a future firmware update.

hansontech

Many thanks for the reply. I'll get him to contact BT Business for the relevant credentials.