cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ESP Consistent Block Bounces when sending to @btinternet.com/@talk21.com/@btopenworld.com

jturn3r

Hi, I'm a Deliverability Consultant based in the UK and working for a large Email Service Provider. I have several B2C customers who are in the process of warming up new IPs for their commercial and transactional emails as well as some that are already on established IPs.  In many cases (and increasingly so) we are seeing regular block bounces with the following error:

3.2.2 (undefined status) Message rejected on 2019/11/15 13:31:02 GMT, policy (3.2.2.1) ID (5D6F9F9E0E74C640) - Your message looks like SPAM or has been reported as SPAM

We are seeing high block bounces for almost each send and regardless of how small or large the volume (150 vs 50k),  the reputation of the IP, or quality of the subscribers and level of engagement seen for BT domains.  I understand from experience that one of the filtering checks that are made in this process is also against Cyren however even when these IPs are labelled and indetified as No risk there, the block bounces are still occurring. 

This appears to be impacting multiple large Enterprise clients that I'm working with and I'm looking for help. I've been chasing Postmasters at both postmaster@btinternet.com and postmaster@bt.com to little avail.  The lack of response is truly disappointing to what I feel is a legitimate issue impacting many businesses. I want to understand whether there is a technical limitation impacting these deliveries e.g. perhaps our ESP MTA settings when sending to BT domains, or if there is an underlying problem impacting our IP ranges, something on the BT side or otherwise (legitimate spam complaint thresholds being breached that we cannot see).