cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Outrageous difference in Infinity pricing (Business v Home)

Chris-BTuser

Just a bit of background for you all......

I am a sole trader working from home and I have had a BT Business phone and broadband package for over 10 years, as well as a BT residential phone line for 14+ years.

Because I have two separate BT lines and numbers, I have been receiving lots of promotional material lately, (e-mails, letters and phone calls), regarding BT Infinity on both lines since my area was upgraded a few weeks ago.

I've always been a great supporter of BT Business, but after looking at the Home BT Infinity literature and both websites I am baffled as to why there is such a huge difference in the pricing.

Comparisons and prices accurate as of 14th June 2012, (I have put all prices as being VAT inclusive just to make a direct comparison)........

Cost for BT Infinity Option 2 unlimited usage:

Business - £48 per month

Home - £20 for the first 6 months, £26 thereafter

Length of contract:

Business - 24 months

Home - 18 months

Calls:

Business - non included

Home - Unlimited evening and weekend calls subject to line rental, (but being a BT customer I already pay this anyway).

Other:

Business - an extra £6 per month for a static IP address

Home - a £50 Sainsbury voucher if ordered online.

Total cost for contract term:

Business - £1,152 for 24 months, (£1,296 if static IP address option taken)

Home - £450 for 18 months

So the bottom line is that it would be several hundreds of pounds cheaper to have 2 broadband accounts on BT Infinity Option 2 in the same property than just upgrading the BT Business Broadband line that is already there.