cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Secure guest access.

devondavid

We run a small self-catering holiday cottage business, and I would like to give guests broadband access. However, I would prefer to keep my own network secure and protected. I realise I could go down the OpenZone route, but I don't want to get into the business of selling vouchers etc., and frankly, our speeds are so low out here in rural Devon (about 350Kbps) I would be embarrassed to ask for money for such a slow connection.

Can I run two separate networks off one BT Business router - for example - can I disable the security on the BTFusion 8620 ssid and use that for "free access". I am no expert on networks and/or routers, and I'm a bit scared of  changing settings in case I dig myself into a hole I can't climb back out of.

Cheers,

David.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

MiloBT
Power User

I don't believe you can using the BT router.

There are other routers on the market that you can have multiple SSIDs on (like the Netgear ones), and some with dedicated 'Guest' networks (e.g. the Cisco/Linksys ones). So you may be best using one of those.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

MiloBT
Power User

I don't believe you can using the BT router.

There are other routers on the market that you can have multiple SSIDs on (like the Netgear ones), and some with dedicated 'Guest' networks (e.g. the Cisco/Linksys ones). So you may be best using one of those.

Sogo7
Grand Master

BT Business hubs are capable of broadcasting TWO SSID's.

One uses WPA encryption and this I would recomend be used for any business related PC that is connected via wifi.

The other channel uses WEP encryption and is less secure due to a well known weakness and suggest using this for guest access. A little sign in the office or shop saying 'Ask for Wifi key' should suffice.

Lovelogic.net UK Jobs Scanner

MiloBT
Power User