cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Domain Issue Frustration

Peter_G
Power User

I am fairly new to eShop so maybe I am still feeling my way.  But, as far as I can tell, a few days ago I had successfully linked my eShop with my domain name, www.qgifts.co.uk.  At least, my eShop was, and still is, visible to the general public under that domain name.  I have been adding a few products over my first few days with eShop, seeing all these additions successfully go live and wondering smugly where were all the problems that I have been reading about in this forum.

Some time ago, early Friday evening, I was looking forward to adding some few dozens of products into my eShop over the weekend and really getting the shop properly stocked.  And then I suddenly find myself locked out of my own eShop with the message from BT 'In order to set up your domain to work with you (sic) eShop, the BT DNS team needs to make an adjustment to you (sic) DNS records. Please click the "Fix Domain Issue Button" and fill out the required fields and BT will update your record within 16 business hours'.  The 'bricks and mortar' equivalent of this is my landlord changing the locks to my shop a week after exchanging contracts and my starting fitting out and stocking, telling me to come back in a few days for the new keys!  This wouldn't happen!

I haven't had a 'domain issue' up til now.  What has suddenly changed that turns my shop from a working viable entity into an inaccessible drain on my financial resources and time?  I really would like to appreciate how BT can understand this problem, know how to fix it, yet be unable to prevent it happening.

Well there we are, nothing to do this weekend now but whinge.  Anyone got any words of comfort?

Regards

Peter_G

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

James
Master User