cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mutliple people looking at the same outlook mailbox - the auto achive is causing problems

EssexPCfix

I am a PC engineer, I have a client I look after there PCs.

The client uses BTs hosted outlook exchange for there email.

The client has 4 users accessing the same mail box.

This is fine until one of the PCs in use runs an auto archive – this moves the emails from the server to the local PC.

Although the archive folder can be added as a .pst data file, as the different PCs request the auto archive at different times – the data from the emails is split (not equally) among the 4 PCs.

The client needs to look up the data from old emails on an irregular basis – however as the archives are spread over 4 PCs – he is getting annoyed that he has to look up to 4 times.

My question is –

Is there a way of hosting the archive file on the BT server end so all PCs can see the same archive folder?

If not, is there a way to mount all 4 archives on all machines?  (I believe the .pst file is locked when mounted to one PC)

I suggested to the customer that he turn off auto archive on 3 of the PCs and leave it all to one PC – he was not keen to do this.

If you have any other suggestions how to resolve this issue, I would love to hear it

Thanks

Paul Middleton

Essex PC Fix

info@essexpcfix.co.uk

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Stephenc
Master User

Hi EssexPCfix,

If you get the customer to login to http://myoffice.bt.com click on "your email" it will either take him straight into his email - old platform.  Or say - please click here to access ofice 365 - new platform.

If the 25Gb is reached, you would need to start storing less important emails in an offline pst or delete some email.