cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Infinity Installation

MHC
Guru

Infinity is due here in the next few weeks and I will sign up as soon as I am able.  However, I would like to understand exactly what equipment BT will supply and where it will be installed.

Currently I have my master socket with filter - the telephony side is fed straight off and teh ADSL output linked direct to my 2700HGV less than a metre away.

The 2700 which provides the modem function, DHCP and one WAP is connected to a 24 port switch for distribution abround the premises including 3 additional WAPs (yes I need all four).

1.  Will the master socket remain the same?

2.  Will there be a new Modem to interface to the line?    And does it require a 230v supply?

3.  Is there a seperate router?   and what models are provided?

4.  What capabilities does the router have?    WAP?  DHCP?  

5.  Could I continue to use my 2700 HGV?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Fiona
Grand Guru

Hi

I have spoken to the fibre technical team and they have said that the Fibre hub does supply wireless and uses 802.11 B/G. It also supplies DHCP, but you will have access to go in and change the address ranges and also turn DHCP off.

I hope this helps

Fiona

BT Business Forum Moderator

Like this post, or any others? Please click on the star image on the left hand side if you do.
If you ask a question by putting up the first post in a thread and a follow-up post answers your question correctly, please let other Forum members know which post contains the correct answer by clicking on the 'Accept as Solution' button on the right hand side of the post.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Fiona
Grand Guru

Hi

It may help to read over the BT Business Total Broadband Fibre. This area answers most of the commonly asked questions about this product, including Getting started with Broadband Fibre and also details on the broadband fibre hardware.

I hope this helps

Kind Regards