cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Business hub in Bridge mode and Complaint!

btnotverygood

I have been using my bt business hub in bridge mode for 6 months sucessfully. A few days ago my internet stopped working so i tried to sort it out. I bypassed my firewall (pfsense) and connected directly to the bt business hub. To my amazement the routers wireless has been enabled by itself and it was set to open and there was various hostnames of phones and other devicesd in the dns list. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE, I CAN NOT HAVE THE WIRELESS AUTOMATICALLY TURNING ITSELF ON, THIS IS SECRUITY RISK, THIS IS A WASTE OF MY BANDWIDTH. I am sure BT just do it so that they can resell my bandwidth with btopenzone. It may have turned itself on while i was rebooting the router but this should not randomlly change settings especially when all the other settings remain the same like the login details.

Ok well back to the problem. I have been unable to get the bt business hub to in to bridge mode, everytime i reboot the router it reverts back to the pppoe with routing neabled and loses the bridge mode settings. I read up and apparently this is a "known issue" and is apparanetly a firmware problem. Well i just so happen to have a second bt business hub which is on a different firmware version and after pluggin ni this brand new router i experiecned the exactly the same problem with the settings not saving. What makes me think it is not a firmware problem but something that BT has done to disable bridge mode capability:

1) problem happened with a bt business hub with latest firmware. After putting it into bridge mode you need to restart to get it too work but the restart just resets the settings back to the pppoe, non bridge mode.
2) i tried a different business hub router with an older firmware and it behaved in exactly the same way.
3) i reset the modem while the router was in bridge mode and the modem reboot reset the router to non bride mode.