cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost access to BTConnect emails via Outlook - I thought these warnings were spam/phishing attempts

paulthack

Wow. I have been receiving numerous spam and phishing attempts claiming to be from BT about my BTConnect email over the last few months - I have been ignoring them and marking as junk.

Now today I discover that my pop and smtp connections stopped working - a bit of internet research reveals that pop access from Outlook to the BT (office365) Exchange servers has been disabled.... 

Who's idea was it to use "btbusiness.imicampaign.io" as the website for this information?

I have simply been ignoring these emails thinking they were phishing attempts.... the actual phishing emails look very very similar. 

Why wasn't a genuine BT domain used!?!

As for removal of pop access - OWA is most certainly not an alternative solution to this issue. I have been using my BTconnect address since at least 2002 (downloading emails and storing them locally)....and now that's been taken away without a sensible replacement being offered.

Absolute shambles.

4 REPLIES 4

Mike1956

I am in exactly the same situation. We were one of the early subscribers to btconnect in 2000 with multiple users under the prime account. We too received endless emails purporting to be from BT which were poorly written and several were auto marked as spam / junk. I actually phoned BT and the chap based in India checked our account and confirmed no emails had been sent to us from BT and advised these were all junk and furthermore advised there would be no disruption to our service.  BT should be ashamed of their appalling lack of proper communication. Never again will we use BT for business, home or mobiles once we have cancelled contracts which have been in place for 27 years. We have now gone down the route of own domain name. 

KITKAT21